Classification of Cardiomyopathies

Cardiomyopathy is often divided into the following three categories based on the morphological features of the diseased myocardium :

  • Dilated cardiomyopathy (85%): with dilated ventricles and impaired systolic function.
  • Hypertrophic cardiomyopathy (10%): hypertrophy of ventricular myocardium, particularly the interventricular septum.
  • Restrictive cardiomyopathy (5%): decreased ventricular compliance restricts ventricular filling

Classification of Cardiomyopathies

Classification of Cardiomyopathies



1 thought on “Classification of Cardiomyopathies”

  1. Pingback: Detailed information on Ileus vs Small bowel obstruction: USMLE Facts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *